Being a Kid

Marina'sTwin

Dedicated Member
Ok, so I drove all the way to the office only to have them tell me that they didn't have enough people to do orientation today, so they're doing it next week. In the confusion of last week, it's no surprise that they tried to call me to tell me that and I missed it. Well, I had to turn in my waitress uniform and pick up my last paycheck anyway, so it wasn't a wasted trip. And of course our paychecks hadn't been delivered yet, so I thought "Ok, well I have some time to kill, I'll just hang out at Starbucks and have an espresso." So I did that and a guy I graduated high school with, who works there, was on his smoke break. So I take my espresso to go and sit outside and talk to him. I asked him how things were going and he told me it was his little brother's first time going to summer camp. So we started talking about how we missed going to summer camp every year. Then, that got us on the subject of everything we missed about being a kid. So, that got me wondering what other people miss about being a kid and since ya'll are older than me, I'm really interested to see what ya'll have to say. So I guess my question would be, what are some things ya'll miss about being a kid?

Well, Holly, that sounds like an enjoyable visit you had with him. First, there was ALWAYS someone to play with or just talk with. Till the age of 18 I lived in the projects ( like council estates I guess, but vertical, lol ) There was a prescribed play area and we were out ALL day. Laughter was the order of the day. You always had a Best Friend with whom you could say anything. My father's cooking is next. Oh, gosh . . beef stew, pork chops, chicken fried steak ( yes, even in N.Y.) mashed potatoes, etc. We ate well. And there was always, pistachio nuts, watermelon, jello or pudding. Scraping the pot after the pudding was cooked, a favorite for everyone. Thanks for the post, hon. A good one.