Series 3 & 4 Observations

codfanglers

Dedicated Member
Series 3 & 4 Observations

I thought I would do one more topic before I travel off to Kenya for a month. Lately with finishing up my school year (I am a teacher) and getting ready for the big family trip I have only been able to catch Summer Wine sporadically. The main PBS station here is currently airing Series 4 while two secondary stations are in the Truly era. I have been catching a few of each randomly. Each time I go through a particular era my understanding of things increases and my views change. So here is my latest personal reflection thread.

1. In one day I caught "Getting on Sid's Wire" and then "The McDonough's of Jameison Street" on a different station. It is amazing how different that show had become. However, the bigger difference doesn't seem to be the characters or the humor. The most stark difference appears to be the number of scenes. For example, in "Getting on Sid's Wire and Isometrics and After" ", there really is only 4 or 5 scenes in the entire episode. Then I caught "Jameison Street". It is only when I watch the two eras simultaneously do I realize the huge difference. "The McDonough's of Jameison Street" is a typical late episode where there are sooooo many short scenes, especially at the beginning. Many seem to last less than a minute. Is this primarily a difference between Lotterby and Bell's directing?

2. Sid- In my years of being in two different forums I didn't get why so many people rave about Sid. I always "liked" him but he was just OK. So me, he was more of a regular character to play off the more extreme characters, like Ivy, Compo, and Foggy. However, I now see how funny he was and how much of a natural fit he was for the show.